Hiking and sightseening tips
Situated 7 km northwest from Uherské Hradiště in the valley of the Salaška stream lies one of the most important pilgrimage places in Moravia – the village of Velehrad. Ever since the Middle Ages, these places have been related to the Archbishop Method’s metropolis and the political-administrative center of the Great Moravian Empire in the 9th century. However, based on today’s archeological research we suppose that the Great Moravian Veligrad was located in the places of today’s Staré Město.
The history of today’s Velehrad began in the beginning of the 13th century, when the first Grey Monks’ monastery was built here. The large monasterial complex, built in late Roman style with some early Gothic features, was finished in the 1240’s. Manifold destructions and reconstructions in the centuries to come have significantly altered its character. The remains of architectural features that were discovered in the course of archeological prospectings are today displayed in the stone collection, installed in the underground of the Velehrad basilica.
The monastery was given its now-known appearance at the turn of the 17th and 18th centuries, when a large scale Baroque reconstruction was launched, to be finished in the second half of the 18th century. This reconstruction radically changed the appearance namely of the basilica, consecrated to Virgin Mary’s Ascension and St. Cyril and Method. The basilica’s decoration is a work of many artists, including stone and marble cutter Ondřej Allio, sculptor and plasterer Blatazar Fontana and painters Paulo Pagani and Ignác Raab.
The visitors to Velehrad can not only marvel at majestic church and monastery but also enjoy themselves in one of the hotels and restaurants in the village. A former water mill was sensitively converted into a hotel that will cater to the needs of even the most demanding guests. You can also taste Moravian wines in the former monasterial cellar.
Buchlov and Buchlovice
The Chřiby hills in the western parts of the Uherské Hradiště district are dominated by the Buchlov castle, which dates back to the 1st half of the 13th century. It was founded by a Czech ruler as a strategic defensive fort for the middle Moravian region and as an administrative center with the right to judge and with a so-called hunting privilege. It is one of the most important monuments of early Gothic style in Czechia. despite the fact that the castle was owned by the Czech kings until the 16th century, it was often rented to noble families as a pledge. Since the end of the 15th century, it was held by the Cimburk family, and from 16th through 18th centuries, it was successively owned by the Žerotín, Zástřizly and Petřvald families. The last owners of the castle, the Berchtold family, is to be credited for the installation of a museum that was opened to public as early as the 1850’s. The castle was ceded to the state in 1945. Today, its visitors can marvel at period interiors, along with collections of stuffed animals and insects and an extensive library.
Not far from Buchlov, on a hill called Modla, stands the St. Barbara chapel, built in 1672 – 1673 as a funeral chapel for the Buchlov owners.
However, the true architectonic gem is to be found in the village of Buchlovice – the Buchlovice chateau. It was built in the late Renaissance style by Italian builder Domenico Martinelli for Jan Dětřich of Petřvald at the turn of 17th and 18th centuries. The chateau’s interior is richly decorated with frescos and stucci by Baltazar Fontana in the spirit of early Baroque. The saloons are furnished with Louis XV. – XVI. era style furniture. The family portraits grace the walls, along with numerous other works of art. The chateau is surrounded by a beautiful park with staircases, terraces, an obelisk, pools, and stone vases. It is also special for a great number of exotic trees and bushes. During the tourist season, there are various exhibitions in rebuilt former stables, most notably a unique exhibition of fuchsia.
In a picturesque valley southeast of Buchlovice, you can find reconstructed sulphuric spa Leopoldov with recreational area Smraďavka.
Wine cellars in Vlčnov
Wine-growing has a long tradition in this village. It was mentioned for the first time as early as the 14th century. On a hill beyond the village, there is a state-protected historic complex of wine cellars.
Johann Amos Comenius Museum in Uherský Brod
The Museum was established in 1898. Today it is a specialized exposition focusing on the life and work of the town’s famous native. Besides the permanent exhibition that introduces the personality of Comenius, the Museum also hosts many art and other exhibitions and other cultural events.
The picturesque countryside of the Morava river basin, the Chřiby hills and White Carpathian mountain range, historic sights and living folklore tradition – all of these things offer many different and interesting possibilities for biking. You can find more detailed information in a brochure describing biking trails, No. 39 – Uherské Hradiště region, White Carpathians, Chřiby. One of the trails you can find here is called Buchlovice royal trail. It starts in Staré Město and goes on via Velehrad, Buchlov castle, Zikmundov, Vlčák, Bunč, Komínky, Budačina, Halenkovice, Napajedla, Topolná, Bílovice, Jarošov, Uh. Hradiště back to Staré Město. It is 60 km long; the difficulty level is intermediate.
Other trails in the surroundings of Uh. Hradiště:
Staré Město circle:
- 44 km - Staré Město, Tupesy, Velehrad, Salaš, Bunč, Kostelany, Budačina, Kudlovice, Jalubí, Staré Město
- 54 km - Otrokovice, Kostelany, Bunč, Vlčák, Střílecký hrad, Koryčany, hrad Cimburk, Osvětimany, Ořechov, Moravský Písek
- 58 km - Koryčany, Střílky, Cetechovice, Roštín, Bunč, Velehrad, Tupesy, Buchlovice, Smraďavka, Dlouhá řeka, Osvětimany, Josefínský dvůr, Zavadilka, Koryčany
- 36,5 km - Bzenec, Těmice, Žeravice, Ježov, Osvětimany, Boršice u Buchlovic, Tučapy, Vážany, Moravský Písek, Bzenec
- 35 km - Uh. Brod, Vlčnov, Hluk, Ostrožská Lhota, Ostrožská Nová Ves, Uh. Ostroh, Blatnice pod sv. Antonínkem, Louka, Velká nad Veličkou
- 47 km - Bojkovice, Záhorovice, Nezdenice, Bánov, Suchá Loz, Nivnice, Slavkov, Boršice u Blatnice, Blatnička, Louka, Lipov, Tasov, Hroznová Lhota, Kozojídky, Veselí nad Moravou
- 38 km - Bojkovice, Krhov, Bzová, U pramenů Olšavy, Pitín, Hostěnín, Slavičín, Rudimov, Bojkovice
Middle White Carpathians:
- 67 km - Uh. Brod., Nivnice, Korytná, Strání, Březová, Lopeník, Rasová, Komňa, Bojkovice, Přečkovice, Kladná - Žilín, Luhačovice, Biskupice, Dobrkovice, Pašovice, Prakšice, Uh. Brod
The path of Šumárnice:
- Strážnice, Doubravka, Tvarožná Lhota, Kněždub, Výzkum, Malá Vrbka, Hrubá Vrbka, Velká nad Veličkou
- 54 km - Velká nad Veličkou, Javorník, Suchovské Mlýny, Vápenky, Kamenná búda, Javořina, Klanečnice, Strání, Nová Hora, Lazy, Březová, Volenov, Nivnice, Uh. Brod
- 23 km - Starý Hrozenkov, Rubaniska, Kopánky, cottage Troják, Mikulčin Vrch, Hribovně, Vyškovec, Rovné, Žítková, Starý Hrozenkov
- 31,5 km - Strážnice, Mašinhaus, Kněždub, Hroznová Lhota, Kozojídky, Veselí nad Moravou, Bzenec, Morava, Strážnice.
All the biking trails are chosen in such way so that there is either bus or train connection from/to Uh. Hradiště.
You can make your stay in Uh. Hradiště even more pleasant by travelling on the Morava river or on an artifical canal named by the well-known Zlín entrepreneur and shoemaker Bata. The 50 km long canal is a historic waterway connecting Otrokovice with Rohatec, built in the 1930’s. Part of it goes along the Morava river, while the other parts are artificial canals with mobile weirs, irrigation shutters, lock chambers and other water structures. The canal helped maintain acceptable levels of groundwater, served for irrigation and, since 1937, transportation (freight). After the Second World War, it served mainly tourism. In 1999, the Otrokovice – Strážnice section was reconstructed back to operating condition.
Do not miss the Bata canal wharf (opposite the Interspar shopping mall). Those who come in on their own vessels will appreciate the public restrooms and showers. You can rent a motorboat here or go on a steamboat cruise. The wharf, which also includes a stylish restaurant, is open April through October, seven days a week. Tel.: 602 853 559
Lookout tower Uherské Hradiště – Rovnina
This lookout tower above the Mařatice suburb offers an exciting view of the Morava river wold and Chřiby mountains to the West, White Carpathians to the East and the gate of Napajedla, Hostýn mountains and Vizovice downs to the North. This 49 m high tower was built by the Eurotel telecommunications company and its observatory platform, rented by the Town of Uherské Hradiště, is freely available to the public. A visitor has to manage 125 steps of a spiral staircase at the tower’s axis to find themselves 23.93 above the surrounding terrain, which equals to 190 m above the surface of the Morava river and 360 m above the sea level. The lookout tower can be accessed from the suburbs of Uherské Hradiště (1.2 miles walk from Mařatice, 2 miles from Jarošov), or from the nearby village of Javorovec (1 mile). The tower is situated on a green tourist trail from Staré Město u Uherského Hradiště to Luhačovice and on the regional bike trail No. 5049 from Uherské Hradiště to Bojkovice and Pitín.